Welcome, Parents!

As Back to School Night approaches, I thought it would be a good idea to get a head start at introducing myself to the parents of all my students.  You can view my brief vizify bio  here.  This might look familiar to you as I asked students to make presentations with their bios to introduce themselves to the class and  vizify was one of the options.

You can see that I’ve been teaching English at South for ten years now.  Even though I still feel as enthusiastic about coming to work each day as a new teacher, I finally feel at ease with the content of my courses.  It takes quite a few years to get to this place and I am confident that I can help your students strengthen their critical reading, discussion, and analytical writing skills with the curricula I have developed over the years.

However, I want to do more than just help students become excellent students of English.  I also feel an obligation to help them develop what we in the industry call “21st Century Skills.”  With 21st Century Skills and digital citizenship, we try to do more than just getting them to use technology in the context of the classroom; we also want technology to be a vehicle that allows them to analyze, explore, & collaborate effectively and deeply.

In order to do that, I’ve got to use technology to build solid relationship with students and their parents to collaborate effectively on these new endeavors.  That’s where this blog comes in.  I will post regularly to give parents an update on which technologies we are currently using and how things are going.  I want parents to feel included in what we are doing, and I hope that parents explore the various web 2.0 tools and mobile apps that we use in class on their own and with their kids.  I also welcome feedback and hope you will reply to my blog posts with comments and questions.

If you would like to be alerted when I publish a new post, you can click the “Follow” button on the right and subscribe via email.

In addition, if you would like to join my Personal Learning Network or PLN to engage in discussions and share articles about technology in education, I welcome you to follow me on Twitter:  @JoeSco77.  You can check out my profile on Twitter here, and browse through my tweets to see that I tweet about events at South, using technology in the classroom, and other topics in education.  If you don’t already have one, I invite you to sign up for a free Twitter account here.

I also welcome questions & comments about how things are going with your son or daughter.  You can email me at joseph_scozzaro@newton.k12.ma.us.  I also use jscozzaro@gmail.com for questions from students about homework.  I try to respond to student emails immediately, so they won’t fall behind and so I can clear up confusion to help them finish homework in a timely manner.

Please feel free to read through my previous blog posts and view a couple of photos of my kids!

Coming next week:  reflections on using Edmodo.

I hope to see you on Thursday evening!  If for some reason, you can’t make it, please reach out to me with an email, by following me on twitter, or signing up to follow this blog.

Thanks!

 

2 thoughts on “Welcome, Parents!

  1. Thanks for sharing your philosophy. I’m a huge fan of 21st century learning and thrilled that Jonah has a teacher who is applying this approach. Looking forward to meeting you Thursday.

  2. Sheri Wantman

    I appreciate your reaching out and communicating who you are and your approach to the process of learning and connecting in the 21st century. I look forward to the experience of a network that will establish that.

Leave a Reply

